Technical Reasons Why DAP Hardware is Better than a Smartphone
May 18, 2024 at 10:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Sauerteig

Head-Fier
I am not sure if this belongs here or in the help/introductions thread.

I am involved in an exchange in why I assert (correctly) that my DAP sounds better a smartphone (android to be specific). Somewhat incredibly, the person quipped in response "And you will never convince me without explaining why it sounds better." He stated my position is "funny" in that "Astell Kern uses Android," so by that logic "it sounds infinitely better than itself?"

This comment strikes me as utterly preposterous. I have a rudimentary understanding of why and how this is so, but beyond just stating a difference in the hardware microchips and processors, I have difficulty articulating the reasons why. I am not a sound expert, do not work in any related professions. I just like music and can hear the (pretty obvious) difference with quality headphones and minimum 320 kbps files.

May 19, 2024 at 12:22 AM Post #3 of 7
Without recommending you get into a discussion with this individual that would likely lead to no where, it is important to understand what this guy is trying to assert. Is it because both use Android and therefore it is the same? Not sure what they are trying to state here. This is also putting aside whether the person you are speaking to believes in any sonic differences caused by source which in case that they do not believe in that, this conversation is a bit of a moot point.

In any case, DAPs (both Android or otherwise) have discrete and specific hardware and software considerations for music. First and foremost, there are a wealth of DAC chips out there and even R2R DACs that have been implemented to varying effects in DAPs. A smartphone, whilst some have gotten some props for their DACs (LGs of yesteryear), this is not exactly a consideration at the top of any smartphone manufacturer's mind at present.