What are some dacs under $300 that match really well with Hifiman Ananda Nano headphones?
May 2, 2024 at 1:02 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Barncore

Head-Fier
Hey all,

I have a pair of Ananda Stealth V3, and i'm thinking of upgrading to Ananda Nano. They both have similar specs.

The Nano is 14ohms, 94 sensitivity.
The Stealth is 16ohms, 93 sensitivity.

Not looking for anything overly expensive, just looking to help the headphones reach their potential.
I'm currently going through my audio interface (Antelope Discrete 4 Synergy Core (non-Pro version)), and it sounds decent but i have a feeling they aren't fully optimized.

I'll be using the headphones to play audio from my computer (i'm an audio engineer), nothing else.

Anyone got a recommendation for a DAC that has the following qualities?
  • Under $300-ish.
  • Pairs well with Ananda Nano.
  • Plugs in via USB
  • Not overly big in size. Don't want it to take too much desk space.
  • Would like to have onboard EQ on the DAC, so i can have an EQ profile for the headphones only and it wont affect the sound coming through my speakers / interface / systemwide. (But let me know if that's possible software-wise, i don't know)
Other stuff:
  • Don't need any bluetooth functionality.
  • Don't need it to power speakers.
  • Don't need anything other than making my headphones sound better.
  • It'd be cool if it could be powered via USB only (so i don't have to use a power socket), but i'm not sure how much sound quality would be sacrificed? Lemme know.

I don't have much knowledge of DACs or amps because i've only ever used audio interfaces to drive headphones, so forgive me if i left out key info. I don't really know the functional difference between a DAC unit and an amp unit, haha, sorry. Hopefully we get some good suggestions here though!

Thanks

Last edited:
May 4, 2024 at 11:13 AM Post #2 of 14
Hey all,