Dac from android smartphone to active speakers.
Jan 25, 2020 at 6:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Jpolop

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, I am new in the world of audio and I've just bought an Edifier S1000DB active speaker. I'd like to reproduce the FLAC files from an android phone without losing quality, so I've thought about purchasing an external DAC to replace the one from the phone. Does a DAC produce a significative improvement using it with an active speaker as the Edifier and a smartphone?
If it was the case, with a budget of 50-150 $ what DAC, without amp and non portability needed, should i consider?
Thanks

Jan 25, 2020 at 8:41 PM Post #3 of 10
Hi everyone, I am new in the world of audio and I've just bought an Edifier S1000DB active speaker. I'd like to reproduce the FLAC files from an android phone without losing quality, so I've thought about purchasing an external DAC to replace the one from the phone. Does a DAC produce a significative improvement using it with an active speaker as the Edifier and a smartphone?
If it was the case, with a budget of 50-150 $ what DAC, without amp and non portability needed, should i consider?
Thanks

If you're not using lossless files I'd go with what's convenient and free: Bluetooth.

Jan 25, 2020 at 8:42 PM Post #4 of 10
For $150, you could just get a DAP (Digital Audio Player) with a line-output function.

Jan 26, 2020 at 3:58 AM Post #5 of 10
If you're not using lossless files I'd go with what's convenient and free: Bluetooth.
The point is that I'm using lossless files.

For $150, you could just get a DAP (Digital Audio Player) with a line-output function.
Will I get a better sound with a 150$ DAP that when a 150 $ DAC + a phone? I prefer yo have all in one device bus if the diferente is significative I could go for a Fiio Mi6 or something like that.

Jan 26, 2020 at 10:55 AM Post #7 of 10
Oh yeah FLAC.