Questions I have as a newbie about 4.4mm cables.
Apr 30, 2024 at 12:25 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Grom781

New Head-Fier
I've read a little bit about 4.4mm but I had some specific questions that I hope one of the many experts here could help me with.

What does 'balanced audio' mean? Does it split the signal from the source evenly between each core in a cable or is it something else?

Does a source need to be altered to properly accommodate for 4.4mm? Are there any little settings that can be changed to truely utilise 4.4mm?

Is there a clear distinction between cables that terminate in 3.5mm but come with a 4.4mm that could then be plugged into DAC amp and cables that simply terminate in 4.4mm?

Im quite new to this space and still learning to pick up little subtleties in good sound quality. I also only use iems and nothing expensive. If I were to invest in a 0.78mm 2pin connector to 4.4mm cable I would run it with Moondrop Aria, or DQ6S's (so either only combined with a ~$70 or ~$35 iem)
I also only have a fairly cheap chinese made amp, I can output 4.4mm from it though, hence my intrigue in 4.4mm.
My question in relation to all this background is this; would a newbie running toslink from source then running the signal through a cheap (~$80) DAC Amp then into a 'budget' iem notice something new?

If the answer is probably no, at what level of experience or at what price point might it be something worth investing in to try? (best estimate is fine)

Last question I promise.... for the setup listed above what should be the pricepoint I should be aiming for if I were to try it out.

I know that was a lot haha but thankyou for any advice or imput. Any is helpful and I dont expect one person to answer everything but I thought it best to inform people of some of the shortcomings in my knowledge.

Have a great day 😀

Apr 30, 2024 at 12:50 AM Post #2 of 14